About Us

Our History

The McMaster Social Sciences Society was established by a group of committed and responsible individuals in 1988 with the main goal of enhancing the experience of undergraduate Social Sciences students at McMaster University. This objective has been accomplished throughout the years by different means, ranging from social and academic events to recreational and cultural activities.

Founding MSSS Executive Team (1988)


(left to right): Charles Selway (member-at-large), Kyle Johansen (vice-president), Dr. Peter George (Dean of Social Sciences), Schellie Maybee (president), Suzanne Sheffield (member-at-large), Maria Fortunato (events coordinator), Dave Moore (treasurer), Carla Momente (secretary).

The MSSS executive is composed of elected members organized in a hierarchical structure along with the various sub-committees and staff positions under the society. In addition, every full-time undergraduate student enrolled in the faculty of Social Sciences is a general member of the MSSS.

The Present

Since 1988, the MSSS has continued to grow and expand its original vision creating the opportunity for Social Sciences students the participate in various social and academic events while striving to foster an environment that promotes our guiding principles of unity, acceptance, and collaboration.

Fast forward almost thirty years later, with a budget of around a hundred thousand dollars, the Society supports and funds eleven groups and affiliates and aims to support over four thousand undergraduate student members.

Throughout the year the MSSS offers various academic and social events, with the aim of meeting the wide variety of interests within our diverse membership. These events range from coffee houses to pub nights; career panels to guest lectures and conferences.

The Future

Looking towards the future, the MSSS main goal is to increase student participation at the
general level while continuing to foster an inclusive community of Social Sciences students who are proud to be a part of the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Our Team

Core Executive

The core executive makes up the heart of the MSSS, and are the governing body of our student society. Composed of the president and vice presidents of administration, finance, academics, programming, and external affairs, our executives ensure that all of the services and events provided by the MSSS continue to run as efficiently as possible as well as bring about new initiatives. Furthermore, the executives are a source of communication, always open to the wishes and needs of undergraduate social sciences students at McMaster University.

Name: Raquel Munoz
Position: President
Email: president@themsss.com
Program: Health & Society and Aging & Society IV
Name: Acacia Blake
Position: Vice-President Programming
Email: vpprogramming@themsss.com
Program: Honours Social Psychology IV
Name: Anthony LoDuca
Position: Vice-President Academic
Email: vpacademic@themsss.com
Program: Geography and Environmental Studies III
Name: Eric Howarth
Position: Vice-President Administration
Email: vpadmin@themsss.com
Program: Political Science Specialization in Public Law and Judicial Studies III
Name: Korin Visca
Position: Vice-President External
Email: vpexternal@themsss.com
Program: Political Science Specialization in Public Law and Judicial Studies IV
Name: Matt Cebo
Position: Vice-President Finance
Email: vpfinance@themsss.com
Program: Social Psychology III

Peripheral Executive Team

An essential part of the MSSS team is made up of the peripheral executive. These positions are a unique mix, including our Social Committee Coordinator, Administrative Assistant, Chief Elections and Policies Officer, Outreach Coordinator, Photography Coordinator, Media Design Coordinator as well as our Welcome Week Planners and Shinerama Coordinator. These members provide support, motivation and take care of all the little details in a big way.

Name: Vanessa Infanti
Position: Internal Assistant
Email: internalassistant@themsss.com
Program: Psychology III
Name: Cristina Palermo
Position: Outreach Coordinator
Email: outreach@themsss.com
Program: Social Psychology III
Name: Adele Tian
Position: Photography Coordinator
Email: photographer@themsss.com
Program:  Health & Society and Aging & Society IV
Name: Jodi Lo
Position: Media & Design Coordinator
Email: mediadesign@themsss.com
Program: Psychology IV
Name: Madison Genier
Position: Formal Committee
Program: Social Sciences II
Name: Harsimran Sidhu
Position: Formal Committee
Program: Political Sciences II
Name: Melissa Marques
Position: Formal Committee
Program: Political Science & Geography III

Year Representatives

As a team, the year reps aim to plan events throughout the year under the supervision of the VP Programming. The Year Reps ensure that the flow of communication between the various years of study in the Social Sciences and the MSSS can remain open. As well, year reps help out in terms of poster distribution, class announcements, online promoting and overall MSSS promotions.

Name: Teesha Henny
Position: 4th Year Representative
Email: fourthyearreps@themsss.com
Program: Social Psychology IV
Name: Jessica Kangappaden
Position: 3rd Year Representative
Email: thirdyearreps@themsss.com
Program: Labour studies and Economics III
Name: Jaydah Ewart
Position: 2nd Year Representative
Email: secondyearreps@themsss.com
Program: B.A.Sc Human behaviour Early Childhood Education Specialization II
Name: Salsabil Sarhan
Position: 1st Year Representative
Email: firstyearreps@themsss.com
Program: Social Sciences I
Name: Joanna Shanthtyapilai
Position: 4th Year Representative
Email: fourthyearreps@themsss.com
Program: Social Psychology IV
Name: Abdi Hassan
Position: 3rd Year Representative
Email: thirdyearreps@themsss.com
Program: Political Science III
Name: Megan Lesiuta
Position: 2nd Year  Representative
Email: secondyearreps@themsss.com
Program: Sociology II

Welcome Week Team

Name: Madeleine Radd
Position: Welcome Week Planner (Programming)
Email: wwplanners@themsss.com
Program: Geography and Environmental Studies IV
Name: Aaron Thomas
Position: Shinerama Coordinator
Email: socscishine@themsss.com
Program: Political Science IV
Name: Trey Mcleod
Position: Welcome Week Planner (Programming)
Email: wwplanners@themsss.com
Program: Political Science Specialization in Public Law and Judicial Studies IV
Name: Acacia Blake
Position: Shinerama Coordinator
Email: socscishine@themsss.com
Program: Honours Social Psychology IV
Name: Jodie Lo
Position: Welcome Week Planner (Logistics)
Email: wwplanners@themsss.com
Program: Social Psychology IV

SRA Social Sciences

The Student Representative Assembly, or “the SRA”, is a governing body of the McMaster Students Union, which is the organization responsible for representing McMaster students’ interests both internally to the university and externally to the various levels of government and other organizations. The SRA is made up entirely by elected undergraduate students from many various faculties, of which Social Sciences is one.

For Social Sciences Students, the SRA has several seats which are filled by elected Social Sciences students to represent the faculty of Social Sciences and the McMaster student community as a whole. These positions are held for a year and then opened once again for election.

Email: srassci@msu.mcmaster.ca

Twitter: @SRASocSci

Facebook: SRA Social Sciences